Falling for Coats

It’s fall. Temperatures are dropping and this can only mean that it’s time to stockpile coats!!

I’m a boring dresser and serial outfit-repeater. For me, stockpiling coats consists of me buying the same style of coats, in varying boring colours and textures. I’m a granny coat person; my parents are understandably disturbed by how I seem to have a penchant for woolly, oversized grey coats reminiscent of the coats my grandma used to wear.

I have to constantly remind myself that I’m only going to be in Vancouver for 4 years; after that, it’s back to sweltering Singapore where coats have no place in my wardrobe and I’ll be resigned to an eternity of shorts and breezy fabrics.

School starts in about three weeks and I’ve decided to be shameless and unabashedly proud of my coats. It may be autumn when I go back, but I will wear my coats everywhere, with everything, in all (okay, most) weathers. I will wear them with shorts and dresses and whatever because that is the only way I can justify spending a few hundred bucks on a plain, grey and oversized coat which I could easily have taken out of my grandma’s closet *cue guilty face and apologetic grins*.

I don’t know where I stumbled upon this brand Nili Lotan, although I strongly suspect Refinery29 was the culprit. She’s an Israeli-American designer with a simple and clean philosophy when it comes to designing coats. Now, I’m a fool for COS so any brand that reflects that clean, Scandinavian and minimalist aesthetic gets plus points in my books automatically.

 

LEATHER QUILTED BIKER JACKET- Black $1,395.00

LEATHER QUILTED BIKER JACKET- Black
$1,395.00

1 BUTTON BOYS COAT $895.00

1 BUTTON BOYS COAT
$895.00

 BOILED WOOL COAT 100% VIRGIN WOOL $798.00


BOILED WOOL COAT
100% VIRGIN WOOL
$798.00

Melange Maja Coat $798.00

Melange Maja Coat
$798.00

 

I know these coats are more or less similar, but look closely and they’re slightly different. Single button, two buttons, marled, plain, collar style… I could go on but baseline is that I could wear these and possibly be so happy that I’d sleep in these coats just to get my money’s worth.  AS for the leather jacket, I’m still on the search for the perfect buttery leather jacket that isn’t cropped. I’d like my leather jackets to be boyfriend style, despite my lack of an actual boyfriend to steal these pieces from hehe. Slow and steady wins the game; plus, leather jackets aren’t cheap so I’ve gotta make sure it’s my dream piece. Another post on leather soon!

Check out my Pinterest board for more of what I’m itching to buy! Distressed Denim skirts, marble anything, coats, Sophie Hulme, blah blah. I’ll probably do another post on my picks for fall so stay tuned for that!

 

Until then,

Denise

Leave a Reply

