Finding the perfect white tee: it’s harder than it looks

Truly, I’ve never found it so difficult to buy something before. I can’t even MAKE my own shirt because my pre-requisites for the perfect tee are mutually exclusive.

My perfect white tee shirt has to be:

 

1. Soft but structured

2. Thick enough to not be see-through but it can’t have that “crispy” feel to it.

3. Can’t be too easily wrinkled

Can you spot the conflicts? If it’s a not easily wrinkled shirt, it’s gotta be soft, which makes it see-through-ish. If it’s structured enough, it’s not going to be soft. Oh, the agony.

I’ve seen some promising ones online but until I feel it with my own hands and try it, I’m not even going to try and buy it.

I’ve amassed a healthy collection of white tees on my Pinterest board , not that it makes it any easier to find the perfect one.

Short sleeved t-shirt 12.99 CAD

Short sleeved t-shirt
12.99 CAD

COTTON JERSEY WELDED TEE US$ 229.00

COTTON JERSEY WELDED TEE
US$ 229.00

A COMMON SPACE WHITE BOYFRIEND SHIRT $88.00

A COMMON SPACE
WHITE BOYFRIEND SHIRT
$88.00

ACNE STUDIOS Jersey T-Shirt $105

ACNE STUDIOS
Jersey T-Shirt
$105

HEAVY COTTON TEE US$ 250.00| PRE-ORDER

ALEXANDER WANG HEAVY COTTON TEE
US$ 250.00| PRE-ORDER

CLASSIC TEE WITH POCKET US$ 87.00

CLASSIC TEE WITH POCKET
US$ 87.00

 

All white, but all distinctly different. I’m instinctively placing my utmost trust in Acne Studios and Alexander Wang, maybe because their reputation for basics has been nothing short of stellar.

In essence, finding a white tee with the perfect ratio of structure and slouch is a lot harder that it looks, which is probably why I’ve only found one perfect white tee in my 19 years of existence.

If anyone is lucky enough to have already found your perfect white tee, drop a comment and share it with the world (and more selfishly, for me so I can fast track my own search).

Until then,

Denise

 

2 thoughts on “Finding the perfect white tee: it’s harder than it looks

  1. Sam says:

    THIS IS MY LIFE’S STRUGGLE. I feel your pain! I actually picked up a few from Banana Republic last summer that are not horrible – I think buying a size up is key.

    Like

    • denisetongning says:

      Hi Sam! The struggle is real isn’t it? Oh I’ve never thought of searching at Banana Republic but thanks for that I’ll go take a look:) Yeah, I think buying a size up helps with the slouchiness which I love! Thanks for the recommendation 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

