What do we say to the God of Shopping? NOT TODAY.

Forgive the GoT reference in the title, I’ve been trying to get myself interested in it just to see what the fuss is all about. Somehow, there’s too many houses and too many names for me to keep track, so I’m just watching out for key points. DRAGON! FIGHTING! REEK! LANNISTER! WOLVES! That’s the extent of my knowledge, I’m ashamed to admit. Obvs not the birghtest crayon in the box over here.

I digress. Question for you: Can you fathom  the agony and heartbreak when the items you’ve been coveting since the age of time finally go on like 50% OFF SALES AND YOU HAVE INSUFFICIENT MOOLAH????? I’ve never been attached but I do think I know what heartbreak feels like, online window shopping has given me plenty of that.

Alexander Wang is FINALLY going on sale, and some of the items going on sale are downright drool-worthy. I know I resolved to start saving some cash after my ZARA splurge free, but seeing A Wang go on sale is unlike any feeling ever. Alexander Wang. The god of minimalism and sleek; god I love that man (and his niece Alia Wang, while we’re at it). Some of his most signature bags are going on sale; usually, colours that go on 50% sale are in pops of neon colour that are un-pairable for my muted wardrobe or are still so vastly expensive I’d have to sell my blood for it. NOT THIS TIME. NO. NOT TODAY.  Take a look and tell me truthfully that you don’t feel that same cramping pain in your heart looking that these babies:

BAGS

ALEXANDER WANG PRISMA SKELETAL BACKPACK IN SOFT NEPTUNE WITH RHODIUM ORIGINAL:US$ 1,117.00 NOW: US$ 670.00

ALEXANDER WANG
PRISMA SKELETAL BACKPACK IN SOFT NEPTUNE WITH RHODIUM
ORIGINAL:US$ 1,117.00
NOW: US$ 670.00

ALEXANDER WANG ROCKIE SLING IN BLACK NEOPRENE WITH RHODIUM ORIGINAL: US$ 913.00 NOW: US$ 548.00

ALEXANDER WANG
ROCKIE SLING IN BLACK NEOPRENE WITH RHODIUM
ORIGINAL: US$ 913.00
NOW: US$ 548.00

ALEXANDER WANG CHASTITY TOTE IN PAVEMENT WITH RHODIUM ORIGINAL: US$ 969.00 NOW:US$ 485.00

ALEXANDER WANG
CHASTITY TOTE IN PAVEMENT WITH RHODIUM
ORIGINAL: US$ 969.00
NOW:US$ 485.00

ALEXANDER WANG EUGENE SATCHEL IN WASHED BLACK WITH IRIDESCENT ORIGINAL: US$ 913.0 NOW: US$ 548.00

ALEXANDER WANG
EUGENE SATCHEL IN WASHED BLACK WITH IRIDESCENT
ORIGINAL: US$ 913.0
NOW: US$ 548.00

ALEXANDER WANG SMALL EMILE TOTE IN BLACK NEOPRENE WITH MATTE BLACK ORIGINAL: US$ 1,173 NOW: US$ 587.00

ALEXANDER WANG
SMALL EMILE TOTE IN BLACK NEOPRENE WITH MATTE BLACK
ORIGINAL: US$ 1,173
NOW: US$ 587.00

ALEXANDER WANG PRISMA SKELETAL BACKPACK IN BLACK JERSEY CANVAS ORIGINAL: US$ 811.00 NOW: US$ 406.00

ALEXANDER WANG
PRISMA SKELETAL BACKPACK IN BLACK JERSEY CANVAS
ORIGINAL: US$ 811.00
NOW: US$ 406.00

 

I’m especially smitten with the Prisma Backpack & the Eugene Satchel. I mean, the buttery softness of the Prisma would go with just about anything you could ever wear. Sneakers, flats, skirts, shorts, trousers, pants, dresses, bright lip, muted lip… I could go on but you get the idea. And for half off? That’s a steal as far as anyone is concerned. As for the Eugene satchel, it looks like a fancy-as-hell gym bag you could tote ANYWAY and still look on top of your game. To the gym? Okay. To work? Great. To school? Perfect. The beach? I’d worry about the sand going in but OKAY MAN. I’m sort of in love with the Rockie but I’ve heard about how the studs at the base can be kind of heavy and the bag tends to sag and lose its shape after a bit. 😦

The versatility of these bags is really what gets me. If I’m going to buy a bag at this price, I’d better be sure its versatile in as many ways as is remotely possible, and I’ve always loved how Alexander Wang manages to make his designs so versatile that they manage to look sleek and slouchy, prim and relaxed all at the same time. Fashion genius stamp of approval.

Just when you thought I was done gushing….. JUST KIDDING THERE’S MORE.

APPAREL

ALEXANDER WANG LAMINATED HOODED ANORAK ORIGINAL: US$ 332.00 NOW: US$ 199.00

ALEXANDER WANG
LAMINATED HOODED ANORAK
ORIGINAL: US$ 332.00
NOW: US$ 199.00

ALEXANDER WANG MATTE LAMB DRESS WITH FOILED HEM ORIGINAL: US$ 1,117 NOW: US$ 670.00

ALEXANDER WANG
MATTE LAMB DRESS WITH FOILED HEM
ORIGINAL: US$ 1,117
NOW: US$ 670.00

ALEXANDER WANG WATER REPELLANT HOODED TRENCH COAT ORIGINAL: US$ 765.00 NOW: US$ 459.00

ALEXANDER WANG
WATER REPELLANT HOODED TRENCH COAT
ORIGINAL: US$ 765.00
NOW: US$ 459.00

ALEXANDER WANG SCUBA SWEATPANTS WITH REFLECTIVE STRIPES ORIGINAL: US$ 332.00 NOW: US$ 199.00

ALEXANDER WANG
SCUBA SWEATPANTS WITH REFLECTIVE STRIPES
ORIGINAL: US$ 332.00
NOW: US$ 199.00

ALEXANDER WANG STRIPED DENIM SHORT SLEEVE TOP ORIGINAL: US$ 275.00 NOW: US$ 165.00

ALEXANDER WANG
STRIPED DENIM SHORT SLEEVE TOP
ORIGINAL: US$ 275.00
NOW: US$ 165.00

Since I’m (hopefully) going to be in Vancouver for the next three years at least, I’m going to need a water-repellent anorak/raincoat right? And it rains in Singapore too, albeit less I’ll admit….. THE POINT IS IT’S BOUND TO RAIN SOMEWHERE SOMETIME SO I NEED IT IN CASE OKAY. AND EVEN IF IT DOESN’T RAIN, IT CAN BE A JACKET. (averts eyes downward to avoid judging stares of disapproval). That anorak is genius: slightly shimmery/glaze-y, oversized just the way I like it, long and comfy with a hood and in black: the colour of beauty. To top it off, it has the same structure as an anorak Denise Lai wore on her trip to Texas for SXSW! Click here for the link. Granted, her anorak is quite literally, 10x more expensive (look here and here), but it looks simply amazing doesn’t it? See Denise (again to emphasise, name twinsies even though she has no inkling of who I am!!) rock it here:

 

 

17239989242_8488942d2b_b

17053957108_5b0b976119_bAbsolutely smashing isn’t it? #anorakgoals

As always, comment and tell me what you think! Anything you want to buy? Again, if you have the cash please purchase these babies so they can have a loving home instead of sitting at a showroom somewhere (trying to live vicariously through others can you tell?).

I’ve been hacking at this keyboard for quite some time I think it’s time to get back to my literature essay on King Lear and his kids. Sigh, Gonerill and Regan you guys must have been positively hellish as children.  #whywerehisdaughterssoweird #makesforafunreadtho

 

Till next time,

Denise

 

 

Leave a Reply

